Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Liability Insurance

I'm a part-time photographer, and recently got hired for a corporate event. I send out my usual contract, and the client comes back with a couple of small changes, and one big one: "DB Event Photography maintains liability insurance in the amount of $4 million.  A certificate can be provided upon request."

I have never considered this, have never looked into it, have never been asked about it. Seems like a huge amount. I'm not even sure what it would cover.

Do any of you part-time photographers carry liability insurance? If you do, how much and what does it cover?

For that matter, do any of you full-time photographers carry liability insurance?

Thanks - Dave

Comments

• TrevTrev Moderator
    Yes, I do Dave, $10million cover, $900 per year (Australia) and it covers any damage, accidentally caused by me to anything/person on any event.

• Trev - Thanks. I was surprised to be asked. You are a full-time photographer, correct?

Dave
  • TrevTrev Moderator
    Yes, I am.

There is a place in town here twice a year they hold a bridal show which I attend and for me to exhibit I must have proof of insurance for public liability, etc. etc. The insurance also does cover some aspects of equipment loss but under certain circumstances only, as it's mainly insurance for public/private damage I may cause, accidentally only of course.