Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Nikon D800 or Canon 5D Mk iii ???

WickWick Member
edited April 2014 in the gear
Hi:

I know there is a huge vested interest in this topic (a well invested one, as well), but I want to shoot some different stuff from the considered, lit, produced, medium format work I have been doing for the last 4 years or so.

To do that -and I'll mention specifics in a sec- I need a faster shutter speed, a higher clean ISO and the ability to shoot many frames/second. Plus, I want to produce some new video. I am coming from medium -and some large format -photography and lots of studio lighting I now happily drive/march into the field, courtesy of Honda and their killer small nearly noiseless generators.
And I have spent the better part of 2 days trying to learn all the info I can on Nikon and Canon.
I'm ready for a drink!

I am -through long use in the dark ages of film- a Nikon shooter beginning with an F1, but my friends who do shoot 35mm DSLR all continue to rave about the 5D mk iii. Even Ken Rockwell states the Canon 5D Mkiii is the best camera on the market, bar none.

Since I have a digital Hasselblad and all the extras, which I will always choose for editorial fashion, advertising, portraiture and architectural/scenic stuff, I now want a system I can use for the rest of the stuff... beyond my iPhone!

I want to shoot like Neil and Chase Jarvis, like my buddy Joe Henson, who recommended I post this here- to shoot the grab shots with perfect mood, exposure and aperture.
I want to stop snowboarders, skaters, bikers and skiers without using lights.
I want to snap candlelit dinners with people saying I love you.