Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Nikon D810 or Nikon D4s for Wedding Photography

UTHUTH Member
edited December 2014 in wedding photography
Hi Neil!

I am a wedding photographer and now use a D700 and a D800.
I really want to upgrade the D700 bus I am not sure if buying a D810 of aD4s.

Of course the price is one mature point and there eis on other disadvantage over the D4s. The resolution. For my wedding books 35x35cm I often need (after a little bit of cropping) about 70cm for one sight and a resolution wot 300dpi (i did some tests and I really have seen differences between D700 and a D800 in that case. Because on an Album the distance of view is quite short. No matter how big it is.

So you have tested both. What is your opinion about that?
What I don’r like on the D800 is the Autofocus. I think even the D700 is a little bit more accurate and the D4s is far better!
The D810’s AF should have been improved a lot. But is it realy that fast and precise than on the D4s?

What are your thoughts about these coma eras? The fps are not the case. But other facts of speed (AF etc.) of course will matter.

thank you so much for your help.

Best regards Ulf

Comments

• Hi Ulf,
    I'm guessing you are Scandinavian?

Anyway, I'm pretty certain Neil would recommend the D4s for wedding work, if you can afford it.

Mainly due to the file sizes, accurate auto focus etc...

I personally, would love a D4s, but there is the price difference. Im currently using the D800 which have suited me well. Mainly doing portraits, landscape, architecture and the odd wedding. I will most probably opt for the D810 next.

Cheers

Jerry Fredriksson

• UTHUTH Member
    Hi Jerry!