Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Any advice on determining if something is focusing is bad with lens, body, or myself?

edited October 2014 in Nikon
Hello everyone,

I have a Nikon 24-70mm f2.8. I've used it w/ my Nikon d600 for almost 2 years now. At 24mm, the focus seemed to be very off, but it didn't bother me much because what I was shooting at 24mm. at 70mm, the focus was much better, but not necessarily perfect. I thought something was not right with the body. I recently got the d750, but focusing is still off.  I never bothered doing any sort of AF fine tuning until I started shooting with the d750. The focus seems to be more off w/ this body.

I just got my d750 a few days ago and starting using it w/ my 24-70. It focuses really quickly, but my focus is still off. I looked up dot-tuning method and decided to try it  out really quickly. I put up something w/ a lot of contrast (black text on white paper) on my wall and put my camera on tripod (about 6ft from the wall).

I was able to adjust the fine tuning such that the lens focused properly at f2.8. However, bcz it is a zoom lens, the fine tuning needs to be changed as you change the focal length. This was a quick test done about 6 ft from the wall at f2.8. I used the #3 in the middle as my focusing target (see attached image).

Here are my results for d750:
@ 70mm: 10
@ 24mm: -9

Here are my results for d600:
@ 70mm: 7
@ 24mm: -15

I didn't try a focal length in the middle. I realized it after I put everything away.

I have two other lenses: 70-200 f2.8 and 50mm 1.8. I haven't considered AF Fine Tuning these because the pictures  have always looked sharp to my eye.