Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Need help choosing a new Mac

Hi Everyone!

I could use some guidance on choosing a new Mac. Here is the quick backstory. I have been using a 15" MacBook Pro for the past several years. I love it! Zero problems until recently. It has been freezing on me and its getting harder to boot up, so I think its on its last leg. I figured I would see what the new options are. I am thinking a new I Mac 27"? All I need it for is lightroom, photoshop and premier. Can I get away with one just off the shelf or do you recommend a custom built machine? My current specs on my macbook are 2GHz Intel core I7 8Gb 1333 Mhz DDR3. I just don't know enough about the specs to choose correctly versus price etc...Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you everyone!

-Jay

Comments

• TrevTrev Moderator
    Jay,

The only advice I can give, not being a Mac user but this goes for both Windows/Mac, get as much RAM as you possibly can and a good Graphics Card, 2 key ingredients for Adobe Products.
  • rs_eosrs_eos Member
    Agree with Trev on RAM and GPU as solid investments; especially the GPU since often times it's not something that can be upgraded after the fact.  I think that is true of the iMac line and definitely true in the latest Mac Pro line.

One often overlooked specification is for drives.  If you can afford it, go with at least the Fusion drive that Apple provides (a hybrid standard drive plus SSD).

Other notes: in terms of laptops vs. desktops, desktops typically give you way more for the money.  Of course you're no longer portable though.   Personally, I only use desktops as that gives me maximum power for the price.