Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

bouncing flash off colored walls

Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
edited December 2010 in flash & lighting
Michelle C asked:

Hi,

I am a new photographer in the Nashville area and just recently found your blog. Thank you so much for all the posts about flash photography. I just recently purchased an SB-900 to use with my D700 and have found your site to be such an incredible source of information. I am learning so much and truly appreciate your taking the time and effort to write those posts. They have been so helpful.

I do have a quick question. Forgive me if you have already covered this on your blog, but I was wondering how you typically handle a situation where you are shooting indoors and need to bounce flash, but the walls/ceilings are painted strong colors. How do I prevent a weird color cast since bouncing off of the walls/ceiling is often necessary in an indoor situation? If I custom set my white balance in that environment, would that take care of the color cast issue or....? What do you recommend?

I have my first family session coming up this month that will be in their home. Just trying to think ahead about any lighting scenarios I may encounter. I will be shooting nine people and so I know I will need to bring in some supplementary light. Do you have any other advice for shooting groups of people and how I can best utilize my flash to create beautiful light?

Any advice you may have for me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for your time.

Michelle C.

Comments

• Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
    Hi there Michelle

You can bounce off colored walls .. but there are some caveats:
    - you absolutely need to shoot in RAW. JPG is not an option.