Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Does size affect rate of light falloff?

ShulimShulim Member
edited January 2012 in flash & lighting
Although I am fairly new to photography, I am familiar with the inverse square law. This law states that if you double the distance of the light source from your subject, the subject will receive only a quarter of the amount of light he was getting originally. You'll have to open up your aperture two stops, rather than only one stop, to get the same exposure, even though you only doubled your distance.

As an example, My flash is at full power five feet away from the subject, and the subject is five feet away from the background. If subject meters at f/8, the inverse square law dictates that the background will meter at f/4.

Here's my diagram (each dash represents one foot).
Flash-----Subject (f/8)-----Background (f/4)

My question is, if the light is made larger, such as by adding a softbox (obviously compensating for the softbox by increasing the flash power until I get f8 at five feet again), will the background now meter at less than f/4? Will the falloff be faster because the light source is larger?

The reason I think this is true, is because when you increase the APPARENT size of the light by bringing it closer to the subject, the falloff is faster. Is this also true when you increase the ACTUAL size of the light, without moving it closer?

Comments

• StephenStephen Member
    edited January 2012
    If you increase the size of the light source, and you don't change anything else, then the light fall-off is adjusted by the intensity of the larger light source.

See: http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/vision/isql.html