Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Parking Lot Lighting

RampageRampage Member
edited May 2012 in flash & lighting
I am a wedding photographer who has been shooting events with several direct flash units for many years. In some cases such as room lights the heads might be completely or partially bounce and in most cases the on camera is (maybe softened but) usually direct. Although I've been happy with this method but the lighting discussed in this forum is much more natural and (beautiful) and seems to embrace today's style as well as technology. It also seems simpler and in some ways less work. (Coordinating two light people and a set of room lights can be a full time job by itself and it doesn't lend itself to spontaneous PJ style. ).
My question though is how can a photographer catch an active dance floor in situations where there is little or no reflective surfaces such as an out door parking lot or a tennis court, or an airplane hanger or a stadium and in some cases a huge (I Mean Huge) ballroom? Are we talking umbrella or do we resort back to my old ways?

Comments

• RampageRampage Member
    It appears that no one noticed my original post. I'm a bit new at this forum stuff so I'm not sure as to why there haven't been any responses to my issue. Was it something I said or am I the only one in the room?
  • Hi Rampage!