Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Expodisc

sathlersathler Member
edited March 2013 in portraits & people
Hi Everyone! This is my first time here... I was listening to Neilvn this morning on presenting the topic: "Give me the f/stop" Fantastic Information.

Two questions:

1-How do I send a question to Neilvn here on his site?

2- Anyone thoughts on the EXPODISC for white balance?

Thank you,

Sathler

Comments

• Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
    HI there ... Oh, I hang out here on occasion. ;)

Re using an expodisc ... an excellent idea.
    I have one, but don't use it since I very often bounce my flash, and the WB can vary then. It's just not a consistent enough environment that I am creating that way.

If you need help in using an expo disc, there are numerous video clips on youtube.
  • Not to sound discouraging.
    Nothing wrong with this and it works well along with many other color accuracy devices.

Many get too hung up on correct white balance.

A calibrated monitor and correcting in raw converter to eye I find a good solution as it suits "my photography" and is often more efficient in a mixed environment as Neil said.

But this is a preference.

You may want this because:
    You like new toys
    Your picky
    It's fun
    You have time on your hands
    You do occasional studio work where color accuracy is important

You do this professionally in which color accuracy is essential. Then you need more than this expo disc. :(

Good luck
  • ZenonZenon Member
    Me too. Mine has been collecting dust for years. A great tool but conditions vary too much.
  • RolfRolf Member