Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Complete newbie needs advice for night shots of people in Times Square

edited June 2013 in home
Hi, I am new to the forum as well as photography in general, but am eager to learn all I can! We are taking our first trip to NYC in less than two weeks and I really want to be able to get some good photos of my kids/husband in Times Square with both the city lights and them properly exposed. I find lots of articles on city night photography, but none of them include people. The limited equipment I have is a Nikon D5100, 18-55mm kit lens, 55-300mm 4.5-5.6 lens, 50mm 1.8 lens and an inexpensive speedlight. Is this even possible with what I have or am I aiming too high? Any help or advice for settings would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
    Times Square is so brightly lit at night that you can easily do available light photos there.

The 50mm and the 18-55mm lens should do just fine there.

Keep in mind that NYC is huge and tall, and your tele-zoom will most likely not see much of a work-out.
  • Neil,
    Thank you so much for your reply. I can't wait to get there and see what I can come up with! I know it's probably like second nature for you and the others on here, but it seems like so much to remember with constantly changing lighting situations, moving and not moving subjects etc when you are trying to make quick exposure adjustments so you don't miss the shot. I'm a little overwhelmed, but I can't wait to put into practice the things I've read in the last few months. We will only be there for 3 days and I don't want to miss a thing!
  • qrickmanqrickman Member
    edited June 2013