Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

What I would have asked Neil

jcgoodsonjcgoodson Member
edited November 2012 in general photography
Neil's recent brain teaser got me thinking: if I won a Skype tutorial with Neil, what would I ask him? Since I won't be speaking directly with Neil (alas, I didn't win), I thought it would be interesting to pose my questions here. Thanks in advance for any responses.

1- Neil's blog posts and books have significantly improved my photography (I'm a hobbyist). In fact, I've become pretty confident in my ability to get soft, directional light and good exposure with an on-camera flash. From time to time I have the opportunity to take pictures for friends -- pictures of kids, families, etc. In terms of lighting, exposure, composition, etc., I nail the images. But, all of my technical prowess is lost on the parent who, when they view the photos, wants a better smile from their child, or wishes a piece of clothing could be adjusted. I can understand this. When I view pictures of myself I am very picky about my appearance. How does one get better at "capturing the moment?" How does one consistently capture genuine expressions?