Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Am I shooting myself in the foot?

juicegoosejuicegoose Member
edited December 2012 in general photography
First of all what a great place to learn a great technique. I am somewhat new to photography and the work Neil does is exactly the unicorn I've been chasing. I'm always being asked to take photo's of family members but have yet to be able to get results I'm proud of. I've started reading Neils books and also have read through about 10 pages of his blogs, Great stuff indeed.

My question is this. I am fully aware of the term it's not the camera it's the shooter but I still have to ask.
My current gear is a
Nikon d90 body
F1.8 35mm Nikon prime
18-105 kit lense 3.5-5.6 vr
70-300 f4.5-5.6 vr
SB600 light

Am I shooting myself in the foot to think I will able to get anything close to what neil produces? Should I sell off my slower lenses and get something faster is my flash up to snuff? I know I know it's a newbie question so i come to masters.

Thanks.

Comments

• ZenonZenon Member
    edited December 2012
    Camera gear certainly helps but it is all about technique. I don't see why you can't achieve good results if you are shooting with flash on camera and so is Neil. He does not get special magic light from his flash. Besides are you making a living with your gear? Can you justify spending money for family photos? Maybe you have lots of cash - well then new toys are always fun.

What are you not happy about?