Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

ceiling and wall color suggestion

Wink11Wink11 Member
edited January 2013 in general photography
Hi,

My husband started gutting our downstairs rec room with hopes to have a small home studio!! :) I was looking for a suggestion on what color to paint the ceiling and the walls. The room is about 12 ft x 22 ft with 8 ft ceilings. I occasionally rent a studio that has black as their ceiling color. Is this the way to go for the ceiling? And what would be the best for the walls?

Thanks!!

Comments

• I've read and have seen small studios usually use white all around... to bounce flash... I'm no expert but I would use white all around so you can bounce from the sides or the ceiling. Thats just me though..
  • Wink11Wink11 Member
    edited January 2013
    Eyesic, I was wondering that too. The lighter the room, better the fill light??
  • Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
    I would say white.

You can contain the light sources with grids on your softboxes.
  • Thanks, Neil. I'll read up on grids. I have the Impact quicbox softbox that I need to play with. I also have some hand me down lights coming my way... :) It will be a little while until the room is remodeled but I want to plan ahead and set myself up for success!!

• Wink11Wink11 Member
    edited January 2013
    Hi, I was looking at grids. And as you mention they help to control light spill?

Question, would it still light the backdrop or do I use a second or third light for that.

Thanks.