Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

cropping?

Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
edited December 2010 in post-processing
Tony Johnson asked:

Hi Neil, how are you. I've been reading a lot on your site about lighting. I'm getting some of it slowly but surely. I have a question that I posted on Photo.net but no one has answered yet. Maybe you can help me out. I've been shooting with a canon 50 d for about 2 years now. I've been using a 17-55 2.8 and a 70-200 2.8

Long story short, I haven't been printing pictures just storing in iphoto or send to people. Just shot Youth Tackle football team pictures and noticed when i tried to order 8x10 the photos were showing that they need to be cropped and if I cropped I would lose people on both ends but on the screen their was room on both sides of the players. The other day when I took care of make ups I just zoomed out so it wouldn't happen when I go to order. Do you know what could be happening. Sorry to have to ask you because I know your a busy man but I don't know what else to do.

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
    Tony .. any time I photograph portraits, whether individually or in groups, I compose for an 8x10 crop. It's a pretty harsh crop from the 2:3 aspect ratio, but unfortunately, that aspect ratio of 4:5 is going to be with us forever. Especially now that the smaller digital cameras (and even iPhone) have embraced the 4:5 ratio.

So you just have to anticipate it and leave enough room to the edges of the frame.
  • I agree with Neil. This is what we have to do....think ahead and plan for the worst case...and thats usually 4:5. This will be the most crop in unless you plan to print square.