Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Adding fast lenses to your setup

jahernjahern Member
edited March 2011 in wedding photography

I'm in my third year of wedding photography, and at the moment only do a couple of weddings a year as I build the business up. I use Nikon and have the 3 f/2.8 lenses, 14-24, 24-70 & 70-200.
I'm conscious of having a f/1.4 lens in the bag for when light is low and flash is not allowed. I'm wondering what would be the best plan going forward for the weddings coming up.
I can rent lenses like the 24mm f/1.4 for €85 each per wedding, or I can buy the 50mm f/1.4G for €325.

Do you think a beginner like myself should just rent the higher end lenses like the 24mm & 85mm, enjoying the benefit of using lenses like these, or is it more sensible to just add the cheaper 50mm f/1.4G for low light emergency and concentrate on using the zooms.
Or am I overstating the need for a fast lens in the bag, and I should save my money and work away with the f/2.8 zooms?

To date I've used the 85mm f/1.4D and 24mm f/1.4 at weddings by renting them, and I love the look I get from these lenses and use quite a few images from these lenses in albums.
However given my newness to the market, and the few weddings per year I have the moment I can't justify buying these lenses.

If you were starting out again, how would you build up your kit?

John

Comments