Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Pls Suggest a fast Lens for candid photography

SharmaSharma Member
edited July 2014 in wedding photography
im a wedding photographer using canon 5d mark III and 6d..

lens i have canon
24-70 2.8 L
17-40 f 4
70-200 f 4 is
200 mm 2.8 L II
85 mm 1.8
50 mm 1.8
Sigma 35 mm 1.4
sigma 15 mm fisheye.

for candids using only sigma 35 and 15 mm.. and canon 85 1.8 and 200mm

pls suggest a lens in tele.. want 85 mm 1.2 but its a slow focus lens.. so other in my mind 135 f 2..

n later add more 85 sigma art when it released..

70-200 2.8 L II is good lens but vry heavy.. N i like Prime more as 2.8 in zoom lens low light restrict n prime gives more better in avaible light n results..

pls suggest .

Regards
Sharma

Comments

• Sharma,

What type of candids? Wedding, casual, event? Looking at your lenses, I would say you have everything you need. Unless you have a lot of room, the 135 would need to be stopped down for sufficient dof or only one person will be in focus but the lens is amazing and has the best contrast and nice lens flare... and the bokeh....it's bokehlicious!
    Out of everything you listed, the 70-200 2.8 would be your best choice. The 5D can handle the extra stop of ISO that you loose to the 135f2.0 and you gain so much. Having said that, I would marry the 135 if I was a lens looking to get married ;)

Rudy
  • SharmaSharma Member
    Thanks Rudy Sir.

i want too use in weddings...
    70-200 2.8 IS II is a good lens.. but its heavy.. i dont want heavy lens plus 2.8 is a limit..

sir i do take pic wide open. 1.4 on 35 .. on 200 2.8.. so focus is not a problem for me..

just need a fast lens for candid pics.. length btween 85 n 135 ..