Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Wedding Photography, direct sunlight, and using your flash to overpower the sun

Hello, 

I'm a wedding photographer and this is my biggest challenge, always!  Brides and Grooms want their images in a very particular location, problem is, it is in the direct sun.  I can master open shade, but the direct sun gets me every time.  I have a wedding this weekend and the bride is very particular.  I checked out the lighting and sure enough, it will be in direct sunlight unless we have some cloud cover.  

I recently started using a flip-it on my flash and I'm experimenting with photographing in the direct sun using on camera flash and my flip it.  

Honestly, I love natural light photography.  Something about using a flash takes away from the nice depth and dimension of my images.  I need a very simple plan and tools to add to my toolkit to master this issue.  

Can anyone recommend some time tested, solid solutions to this struggle.  Thank you so very much.  

Debbie 

Comments

• ViccoVicco Member
    edited May 2015
    Hmmm, what is so bad about direct sun? The only thing to keep in mind, in my eyes, is, to avoid High Noon. Better go earlier or later.
    And then... well, there is so much light around, why not simply use a reflector? :-) With the California Sunbounce models, you can even go alone, as there are possibilities to fixate the reflectors on a lightstand (choose a heavy one for this purpose, like the one from Manfrotto, made from steel). Btw.: I dont think, that this little flip-it tool helps more in your case, than placing a tiny little sparkle in your subjects' eyes.

http://photographylife.com/how-to-use-a-reflector