Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

Equipment insurance for hobbyists

StephenStephen Member
edited March 2012 in general photography
I am not a professional photographer (no formal or informal business), but I have a sizable amount of gear. Am I forced to buy business-level insurance to cover the equipment? In an older thread, I read that one poster advised not using a rider on your homeowner's/renter's insurance, because the insurer has a tendency to drop you on the first claim.
Tagged:

Comments

• very interesting question! i would love to know the answer also what kind of insurance do photographers use and how they go about getting it, and whats the cost?
  • ZenonZenon Member
    edited March 2012
    It depends on the company that insures you. You need to check it out. I just have a rider on my gear. Not at a pro level. If I do use my gear professionally then it is at my own risk. Any other time I'm covered. My insurer will not dump me if I I make a claim but but fees will go up.

It may pay to look into a reputable company that insures your gear outside the home policy. If you make a claim then your house insurance does not got up and if they dump you who cares. There are other companies out there.

My boat is insured separately in case I hit a rock, etc and my home insurance will not be effected by a claim. When I'm up for home renewal I may look into it for my camera gear. My home insurer set my up with my boat insurance so things are easier.

I know I read about a company that specializes in camera insurance but I can't remember the name. If I come across it I'll post it.
  • StephenStephen Member
    edited March 2012