Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

First wedding -couple portrait poses, lens choice and other things

xenonxenon Member
edited June 2013 in wedding photography
Soon I'll be shooting my first wedding, though just the portraits of the couple. An assistant will hold a softbox or reflector and I plan to shoot outside, weather permitting. The Canon 580EX II will be either controlled by TTL via a long off-camera cord, or manually by a radio trigger. I think I'll take the cabled TTL route.
When it comes to posing I'm a newbie. I know it takes years to perfect that art but where do you suggest I start? I'm thinking traditional wedding couple portraits in front of a tree, on a bench, stairs or whatever. Romantic, classic, stylish, professional and beautiful is my goal.

I have a fair collection of lenses to choose between (I'm using a Canon 50D which has a 1.6x crop sensor):
- 24-70 f/2.8
- 70-200 f/2.8
- 35 f/2
- 50 f/1.4

I love the shallow DOF of the 50 f/1.4 but then again I don't want to risk missed focus shots. The 24-70 f/2.8 might be a better allround choice in the 50-70mm range, or what do you think?
For metering I'm planning on using a gray card, which will also double as a white balance reference. This should solve the confusion of the bride's white dress vs. the groom's black suit.

Comments

• Before shooting my first wedding (last April) I was on youtube.com a lot looking for instructional videos (which is where I came across NvN).
    I would also recommend you check out this blog under wedding photography
    http://neilvn.com/tangents/category/wedding-photography/
  • ZenonZenon Member