Photographers are more and more becoming the target for scammers and con artists. The latest trick for them is to book the photographer for a date, and then pay via bank guaranteed check or via credit card. The scam comes into play in that they over-pay, and then ask for a refund of that portion of the money. The bank guaranteed check of course is fake, or the credit card they used is stolen. And the end result is that the photographer who is naive enough to fall for this, is out of pocket by whatever amount they refunded to the scammers.
Here’s an example of an email I received last week:
From: mike steel
Sent: Tuesday, July 08, 2008 12:06 PM
Subject: PHOTOGRAPHER NEEDEDHello
i will like to Make an enquiry Concerning my Wedding Which would be Coming up on the 5th of september 2008 ,i need a Good Photographer/videographer who will be Covering all the event(5 hours).Please let me know if you are Available and if you have facilities to accept Credit Card Payments.
Hope to hear from you in other to know your Prices
Warmest Regards
Mark
First of all, the poor spelling and grammar is usually a clue.
Then the next clue is that they aren’t specific about what they want … they just want to give you money. No matter whether you are a photographer or videographer.
Then there’s another clue in the inconsistent info, or the lack of info. And when you ask for more details, they will supply some details but will usually remain vague. Or the details won’t match up. Note how the email is from ‘Mike’ but the email is signed by ‘Mark’.
I played along with them for a while, trading emails, but they finally lost interest when I asked whether he is Mike (the “groom”), or Mark (who signed the first email), since I wasn’t sure who I am actually responding to. Here’s their reply.
lol. i see its my twin brother!
sorry!
Riiiiiiiight!!
.
It seems like the scammers have come up against photographers who are wise to this, and insist on speaking to them over the phone, because the emails have changed slightly now. Now the emails are from the bride’s mother, who happens to be deaf now. However, the rest of the wording remains the same.
Hello
My name is Rose Winans, I Live in Wood-Ridge, NJ 07075, but presenlt in North Corolina for the sake of the Wedding, I will be back soon I am deaf if not i would love to call about this enquiry, I will like to Make an enquiry Concerning my Son’s Wedding which would be Coming up on the 29th of August 2008 , I need a Good photographer/videographer who will be Covering all the event (5 hours) In NJ. Please let me know if you are Available and if you have facilities to accept Credit Card Payments (No Paypal, i dont have a paypal acc).
Hope to hear from you in other to know your Prices.
Regards
ROS
And again, note the bad spelling and grammar, and lack of details.
She even misspells her own name.
You know, we might actually be in trouble the day that these scammers become more articulate. ;)


LOL! This is funny that you brought it up because I think every photographer has gotten these emails. I noticed they were scams when they were sending these emails to my personal email (not sure how they got that) instead of my wedding email. LOL!
Comment by Caroline Ghetes — July 15, 2008 @ 4:56 pm
I received a bunch of these mails from Nigerian royalty (Honest!). When I looked into it further I came across this site http://www.419eater.com/
These guys have turned getting spam into a hobby :)
Comment by Steve — July 15, 2008 @ 4:59 pm
Comment by Neil — July 15, 2008 @ 5:06 pm
Hi Neil:
I had one of these a few months ago, from a bloke claiming to be a doctor from England and getting married in California, he offered to pay all expenses, I never even met the bloke!
Like you, I played along, he got nasty because I wouldn’t give him my PayPal account, I replied that all correspondence is being forwarded to the lawyers at the PPA, I never heard a thing from the “quack’ again, the PPA thanked me for forwarding the emails, I carried on with my life. The PPA have sent me number of warnings about these scams :-))
Comment by Bob Pendleton — July 15, 2008 @ 5:21 pm
Yes, it looks like the Nigerians are trying different markets. I can’t believe that anyone would fall for this, especially with the bad grammar. I always meet my clients in person, as do most photographers I would imagine.
Comment by Christian — July 15, 2008 @ 7:44 pm
I have sold a few things on ebay and also a different hi-fi site in the UK and got similar e-mails there too.
The concerning thing is, even after a cheque HAS been cashed, it can still be re-voked up to 6 months after the event.
luckily i’ve not been stung this way (touch wood)
Comment by geoff — July 17, 2008 @ 5:36 am
Last year I received a poorly constructed e-mail from a fellow who indicated that he wanted a wedding shot in Bakersfield, CA. I gave him a quote for the shoot and he sent me a CC for $1000 over.
I’ve recieved a few others from the Nigerians as well . . LOL
Comment by Jim White — July 18, 2008 @ 1:43 pm
I hadn’t heard about these scams before but where I live clients normally don’t pay with Visa. I also meet clients in person.
Comment by Serge — July 22, 2008 @ 7:38 am
Just got the Rose one.
Comment by Ryan Brenizer — July 23, 2008 @ 10:58 am
God bless google. I was just getting ready to clear my calendar and I decided to google her name. The email was from employ.ceramics@gmail.com. It started off with this “gem:”
Hello, My name is Rose Winans, I Live in Austin Texas, but presenlt in Tennesse for the sake of the my Son’s Wedding, I will be back soon I am deaf if not i would love to call about this enquiry.
Stay diligent. It’s hard enough finding those who actually want your services.
Comment by Patrick Zeinert — July 25, 2008 @ 9:26 am
Hi, I was reading this and it seems that they are going through so many means to get money of us honest working people. There was this time when my work mate asked me to take some pics of his motorbike for the autotrader webite for sale. We then got numerous emails form this guy saying he wants to buy the bike and eventually ent us a cheque for £6,000 (keeping in mind my mate only wanted 3k for it) stating that after 3 days when the cheque clears send him £3000 back to him through Western Union money transfer, at our local travel agents. He even got his cusins (note the spelling) to email me details of him. After about 3 weeks of playing funny games with him we turned a bit nasty with our emails (funny but very nasty). Then we got an email saying he was sending some heavies down and called us nincompoops. We was shaking in our boots lol.
The bank told us the cheque was for an imaginary bank in Ireland and would have shown up only 4 days after deposit, which is why they are so eager for you to send them the money back after 3 days because it shows up in your bank after 3 days as cleared but will only bounce after 4.
Stay alert for the low lifes as they are getting around everywhere.
Keep well
Comment by Dave Owens — July 26, 2008 @ 6:54 pm
lol, my dad was selling second hand car parts over the internet (in Belgium) several years ago. And he also got a cheque from Afrika with a much greater amount on. And they also asked him to pay a part back. But he’s clever so he didn’t. This is not a new phenomenon so.. don’t be eager to give money or codes to anyone out there!
Comment by ALisha — July 27, 2008 @ 4:44 am
I Got one for a Church revieal in north New Jersey . I called the Church just to see if it was for real it was not the Church was happey I gave them a heads up on the scam they did have professional photographers showup on the Date given.
I wish I had a Group Photo of them
Comment by Richard Brandstetter — August 21, 2008 @ 8:49 pm
I know of a photographer who fell for this scam a few years ago. This person was very new to the industry and the email she got-which I got to read- was not like the ones you usually get. It was clean, gave location and times, names of people, what they were looking for- everything.
She was offered a ton of money for a start-up. Something like $4000. Then via the big deposit/ refund trick she lost over half of that money. It was so sad.
Another friend almost got scammed trying to buy a expensive car- only to realize it was a scam just before the deal happened.
Point is- the emails are not always filled with bad grammar and spelling mistakes. Watch out!
Comment by sherry — August 22, 2008 @ 1:24 am
the strangest thing is, why can’t these scammers spend 5 more minutes to correct their spelling, grammar, punctuations and have it proof-read. With that they might just get more people fooled.
Comment by tzywen — September 28, 2008 @ 5:32 am
Here is the most recent scam email:
Comment by Neil — October 4, 2009 @ 10:22 pm
And another I received this morning:
Sure, Mr Lewis Raymon. I will get right on that.
Comment by Neil vN — June 7, 2010 @ 10:52 am
Here is the latest Nigerian scam. Quite unique in its phrasing.
But, it’s got all the markings of a scam.
Note the return email address. Very official.
Comment by Neil vN — July 13, 2010 @ 12:04 am