Welcome to the forum!

As an adjunct to the Tangents blog, the intention with this forum is to answer any questions, and allow a diverse discussion of topics related photography. With that, see it as an open invitation to just climb in and start threads and to respond to any threads.

which Nikon flash?

Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
edited December 2010 in flash & lighting
Ung Soh Fong asked:

My name is Fong and I am new to the country and would like to start anew as a photographer (portraits & wedding). I attended your recent talk at B&H, which I enjoyed tremendously. I am very new to flash photography and found your idea of bouncing the flash light to the target was excellent, bordering to genius, in my honest opinion.

I would really appreciate if you could advise which TTL flash model you would recommend for my D700 (or the one you used at the talk). Also if there are other necessary accessories I should get with the flash - noted, I will get the hairband, yellow piece of tinted paper and what is that black thing you used to direct the flash light?

Thank you and I look forward to your reply.

Sincerely,
Fong

Comments

• Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
    Hi there Fong ...

I'm glad you enjoyed the seminar presentation. :)

As to which flash you should get, I normally suggest getting the most powerful speedlight you can afford. Most forums seem to advise differently, but here is my reasoning:
    http://neilvn.com/tangents/flash-photography-techniques/which-flashgun/

Neil vN
  • Neil,
    I noticed that it seems you are now only using Nikon's SB900. Do you use Quantum's anymore? I did noticed a while back that you sold several of your Quantum's on FM forum. Is there much of a difference in power from Quantum's compared to Nikon's SB900s. Also thank you so much for sharing all of your knowledge on photography.

Thank you,

Kingdon H
  • Neil vNNeil vN Administrator
    I still have and use three T2 Quantums, and a T5D-R quantum.